The Problem of Pain

by C. S. Lewis

Product Rating

Paperback SKU 4156129

Save 0
Reg. $13.99
Ships in 2-3 business days

Product Description

Why Must Humanity Suffer?

C.S. Lewis, the master apologist, tackles the question that has plagued humanity for centuries. If God is both omnipotent and good, how can we explain the pain and suffering that people experience daily? And what of the suffering of animals, who neither deserve pain nor can be improved by it? With compassion and insight, C.S. Lewis proposes reasonable answers to these critical theological problems, sharing his wisdom with those who seek true understanding.

About the Author

C. S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis (1898-1963) died on the same day as the assassination of United States President John F. Kennedy, Nov. 22, 1963. Clive Staples Lewis was born in Belfast, Ireland, on Nov. 29, 1898. He was educated by private tutor and then at Malvern College in England for a year before attending University College, Oxford, in 1916. His education was interrupted by service in World War I. In 1918, he returned to Oxford where he did outstanding work as a classical scholar. He taught at Magdalen College, Oxford, from 1925 to 1954 and from 1954 until his death in Oxford. He was professor of medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University in Cambridge. He was highly respected in his field of study, as a both teacher and writer. His book The Allegory of Love: a Study in Medieval Tradition, published in 1936, is considered by many to be his best work.

Lewis is most known for his attempt at formulating a core of Christian understanding. Lewis wrote a number of highly readable books intelligent, imaginative, and often witty. Among these were: The Pilgrim's Regress, published in 1933, The Problem of Pain (1940), Miracles (1947), and The Screwtape Letters (1942), probably his most popular work. He also wrote a trilogy of religious science fiction novels: Out of the Silent Planet (1938), Perelandra (1943), and That Hideous Strength (1945). For children he wrote a series of seven allegorical tales, beginning with The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe in 1950. His autobiography, Surprised by Joy, was published in 1955.

View more products by C. S. Lewis


No reviews available

Write a Review